Academy Advisory Body

Welcome to our Governors’ section.

Rowena Academy has an Academy Advisory Body. The members are a team of people dedicated to providing the best education possible for our children. The Academy Advisory Board (AAB) plays a key role in the life of the academy and is responsible for scrutinising the work of the Academy Senior Leadership Team in the following areas:

  • Standards
  • Behaviour and attendance
  • Safeguarding
  • SEND/LAC/disadvantaged
  • Health, safety and site
  • Finance compliance and value for money
  • Community engagement.

This page contains details of our Academy Advisory Body (AAB) structure and remit.

“The governing body is extremely well led and organised. It is very well informed through high quality reports from the principal and other staff members. The governors systematically check on all aspects of the academy’s work.”

Ofsted June 2013
GovernorsCategoryCommittee Membership
Louise ChappellAppointed by Delta (Chair)
Behaviour and Attendance
Joe SpencerAppointed by GB/board (Vice Chair)Health & Safety
Michelle BentonPrincipalFinance & Human Resources
Sherry KahlerVice Principal / Staff GovernorSEND/LAC and Disadvantaged Pupils
Helen HuntAppointed by DeltaFinance & Human Resources
Helen HarrisonCommunity GovernorCommunity
Wendy HeathLocal Authority/Community GovernorSafeguarding
Clare KennellyAppointed by Delta (Finance)Finance (associate member
without voting rights)
Rebecca SimontonAppointed by Delta (Finance)Finance (associate member
without voting rights)
Laura PrattClerk to Governors

AAB Chair Contacts Details

If you wish to contact the Chair of the AAB please telephone 01709 863109 to make an appointment or write to:

Mrs L Chappell

c/o Rowena Academy
Gardens Lane
DN12 3JY